Makeup at the Gym

First of all, I’d like to make it clear that I have always been confused by the idea of putting on makeup to go to the gym.  I mean, you’re going to get gross and sweaty and anyway, makeup isn’t the point of working out.  Maybe some girls don’t sweat like I do, or they feel the need to look cute in everything they do.

I like to look cute, but I realize this just isn’t possible all the time.

But that’s not what this is about.  I’ve recently started making the effort to wear makeup every day.  Just some eye makeup, a little concealer, lip color.  Nothing major.  But when I then exercise in the evening, I have the added step of removing said eye makeup, or else risk running.  Enter the E.L.F. waterproof eyeliner pen.  I already love this eyeliner because it’s not quite as dramatic as a full-on liquid liner, but it’s easier to deal with than a pencil.  I’ve taken to using this pen in Coffee to finish off my eye each day.  And, hey, it’s supposed to be water-proof.

But is it capoeira-proof?

So I figured that of all the people in my life, my capoeira buddies tend to see me at my least sexy, so who cares if I end up with some raccoon rings of melted eyeliner around my eye?  So I skipped the mascara and wore makeup to capoeira.

I admit, I felt a little ridiculous.  I mean, I was wearing makeup at the gym.  But I justified it by telling myself I was actually being lower-maintenance than if I took an extra 5 minutes to wash off the makeup.  Shorter prep time, right?

And, hey, it worked.  I didn’t end up smudgy, and I even had some eyeliner left at the end of class.  So I guess this is also an intense test of the E.L.F. waterproof eyeliner pen, which it passed with flying colors.

About Kyniska

In ancient Sparta, women were encouraged to train their bodies and minds as warriors did, in preparation for an adult life of strength and intellect. They strove to win a husband through strength as well as beauty. I try to live my life by this philosophy, that athletic ability and accented beauty can co-exist, yielding a richer whole. View all posts by Kyniska

Leave a Reply

