Sunday Recipe: Pasta with Shrimp and Zucchini

Rice pasta with sauteed shrimp and zucchini

Happy weekend, all!  This is the first of what I hope to be a Sunday series.  Every Sunday, I’ll share a quick, delicious, nourishing meal that I’ve made and loved during the week.  This week, I’m sharing the pasta dish I made for my lunch.

Sundays are a bit of a wild card.  We get up around 6 or 7 a.m. and don’t head to the markets until 10, which is when the farmers market and organic market both open.  But since we generally have very little food in the house right before shopping, I don’t often make a big Sunday breakfast.  So we’ll scrounge something, and then figure things out at the markets for lunch.  This week, I splurged and bought myself some shrimp.  My husband isn’t the biggest fan of shrimp, so I tend to get them as a treat for myself.  And I put together this yummy pasta dish with some gluten-free pasta.

One note:  This makes a truly gargantuan plate of pasta.  I’m a pretty active, voracious female, but those of you who don’t like to eat massive amounts of food could share this between two people, or else toss the sauteed shrimp and zucchini with spaghetti squash instead of pasta for a smaller meal.

Pasta with Shrimp and Zucchini

100g brown rice pasta

2 tsp. olive oil

180g shrimp, peeled, deveined, and parted from their tails

95g zucchini, cut into short fingers

1 Tbsp. minced garlic (1 or 2 fat cloves)

14g good quality salted butter

salt and pepper to taste

Cook the pasta in boiling salted water.  While the pasta cook, heat the oil in a wok over medium heat and add the zucchini.  It should sizzle when it hits the pan.  Cook for a minute or two, then add the garlic and the shrimp and cook for another couple of minutes, until the shrimp pinken and start to curl up.  Salt and pepper to taste.  Lower the heat, add the butter, covering for a minute.  Toss in the drained pasta and toss around to coat everything in butter.  Serve.

About Kyniska

In ancient Sparta, women were encouraged to train their bodies and minds as warriors did, in preparation for an adult life of strength and intellect. They strove to win a husband through strength as well as beauty. I try to live my life by this philosophy, that athletic ability and accented beauty can co-exist, yielding a richer whole. View all posts by Kyniska

Leave a Reply

