Quick and Uncomplicated Strength Workout

This is my Monday morning workout.  I also do an extended version of this before I swim on Fridays, but I add some capoeira acrobatics and handstands, since I have the mats at the gym.  The main part of the workout is just three exercises, all incredibly modifiable to adjust to your level.  All you need is enough room to lay down a yoga mat, so it’s great for travel, so you can keep some tone and get your muscles working in the morning.  It takes me between 10-15 minutes to do the whole thing, as listed below, but you can stretch it out by doing more rounds of the main workout, or more reps of each exercise.

Basic Sparta Athletika Strength Workout

Warm-up: 4-5 rounds of Surya Namaskara A

Workout: 3 rounds (or as desired)

10 squats

10 pushups (I do as many as I can in the full plank and then move to my knees)

30 seconds plank

15 seconds, each side, side plank

Cool-down: Stretch out your hamstrings, quads, arms, and abs

That’s it.  Try it out next time you wake up 15 minutes early and can’t get back to sleep.  Or next time you’re on vacation and want to feel less like a slug.  Or when you’re antsing about getting ready for a hot date and want to send a little rush of blood to your muscles to make them look more toned.  Or, whenever, really.

About Kyniska

In ancient Sparta, women were encouraged to train their bodies and minds as warriors did, in preparation for an adult life of strength and intellect. They strove to win a husband through strength as well as beauty. I try to live my life by this philosophy, that athletic ability and accented beauty can co-exist, yielding a richer whole. View all posts by Kyniska

Leave a Reply

