Climbing

Yesterday evening I went to the climbing wall for the first time this year.  It was awesome, especially since I found out a few of my coworkers are belay-certified, so I never had to wander around awkwardly looking for a volunteer to belay me.  Yeah, I really ought to get certified myself.  Since I was out with some more experienced climbers, I definitely felt the need to push myself to not seem like a wuss (sort of a problem I have), so after warming up by going up the easiest side of the wall, I opted to try my first climb on the straight vertical wall (as opposed to the one that slants away at an angle and is therefore easier).

Wow, big difference.  My fingers were so wobbly I could barely untie my harness afterwards.

But, y’know, that wasn’t enough.  So then I did a route on the vertical wall.  Okay, I didn’t make it the entire way.  I cheated a little, but I made it most of the way.  And my coworker told me that he was suspicious it was marked easier than it really was.  So who knows?

We’re trying to make this a weekly thing, which would be awesome.  My body feels like jelly this morning from the muscles I’m not used to using, but I definitely noticed an improvement in my confidence since I’ve been training more pull-ups and other upper-body strength.  Climbing is supposed to be driven by flexibility and leg/core strength, but if you have a weak upper body, it definitely makes you less confident.

Definitely recommend climbing, especially before it gets too hot (or if you have access to an indoor wall).

Photo credit: Chaiwat

About Kyniska

In ancient Sparta, women were encouraged to train their bodies and minds as warriors did, in preparation for an adult life of strength and intellect. They strove to win a husband through strength as well as beauty. I try to live my life by this philosophy, that athletic ability and accented beauty can co-exist, yielding a richer whole. View all posts by Kyniska

Leave a Reply

