E.L.F. Waterproof Eyeliner Pen

I’ve mentioned the E.L.F. waterproof eyeliner pen before when talking about wearing makeup to the gym in the evening, but I figured I should give a quick review, since I’ve had it long enough to get a good idea of what I think about it.

Well, I use it almost every day.  I really like this little pen, especially for a dollar.  I only got it because I kept reading that black eyeliner is inappropriate for work, and that I should be using a color that “matches my hair or is one shade darker” for daytime makeup.  Um, my hair is very, very dark brown, just a step lighter than warm black.  So black eyeliner tends to actually look pretty natural on me, thankyouverymuch.

But, okay.  What about when I want to use warmer colors of eyeshadow, or try to rock a more natural look than kohl-rimmed eyes?  Fine.  So I saw this little beauty at Target and was intrigued.  I got the Coffee color, which really is a very dark brown.  I have to say, I’m a little hooked.  If I weren’t so intent on eventually trying gel liner, I might get another one in black.  It has the definition of a liquid liner, but somehow gives a less severe line.  It’s nicer than a pencil because it leave a mark when you touch it to your skin, regardless of how hard you press or how warm the product is.  I haven’t seen any indication that it has to be angled downward to work, like some regular pens (ever try to write a note up against a wall and have the ink “run out” because it all ran away from the tip?).

And it’s really, really waterproof.  Okay, I haven’t been swimming with it yet, but it lasts through lots of sweating, which is a priority for me.  I’ve worn it climbing once and to capoeira twice and through two heat waves.  While I may not make beauty a priority at the gym, it’s nice to know that I can skip eye makeup removal before working out, and not have to worry about looking scary.

I can come up with only two drawbacks:  1.) the tip has gotten a bit frayed since I bought it a couple weeks ago, but I can still get a precise line; and 2.) there are reports of poor service from E.L.F.’s website.  I bought it at Target, so no worries there, but do a bit of Googling to read all the reviews if you decide to buy from the website.

About Kyniska

In ancient Sparta, women were encouraged to train their bodies and minds as warriors did, in preparation for an adult life of strength and intellect. They strove to win a husband through strength as well as beauty. I try to live my life by this philosophy, that athletic ability and accented beauty can co-exist, yielding a richer whole. View all posts by Kyniska

Leave a Reply

