On Feeling Strong

 

During the conference last week, I had a dream. In that dream, I was in high school and I had broken up with my popular boyfriend in order to date someone more rebellious. Pretty standard high-school-show stuff. It’s a dream, right?  Here’s where it gets interesting.

Seems my jilted boyfriend didn’t like that some loser had his girl and decided to wait outside one day and attack the new guy.  Beat him with a baseball bat.  Really screwed him up.  Kinda scary.

Then, the dream rewound.

And this time, I knew what was going to happen, and when he took the first swing at my new guy, I jumped in and caught the bat.  He kept trying to pull it away, but I held on.  And then I wrenched it away from him.  And told the [expletive expletive] to get the [expletive] out of here.

Go me.

This was a really cool dream for so many reasons, but the main one was that, for years, whenever I got in a physical altercation in a dream, I always lost.  I was completely ineffectual and could not so much as push someone away.  It made nightmares really, really scary because I always knew that once the dream started going bad, there was nothing I could do about it.

Then, I started lifting.  Since starting lifting, I’ve found that I feel strong, and this strength carries over.  It has nothing to do with physical strength because physical strength counts for nothing in a dream.  It’s all in your head.

And it reminds me of how my best periods of taking care of myself and eating properly are when I’m also doing activities like lifting and martial arts, which make me feel strong.  Yeah, you get good muscle tone and maybe an aerobic workout and it’s all very healthy for you.  But that’s not why I do this.  I do it to train my head to realize that I am a strong person.

Image Credit

About Kyniska

In ancient Sparta, women were encouraged to train their bodies and minds as warriors did, in preparation for an adult life of strength and intellect. They strove to win a husband through strength as well as beauty. I try to live my life by this philosophy, that athletic ability and accented beauty can co-exist, yielding a richer whole. View all posts by Kyniska

Leave a Reply

