Girl Crush: Kara “Starbuck” Thrace

I thought I’d take some time to talk about a fictional character that I’ve found myself drawn towards today. Kara Thrace, or Starbuck, from the new Battlestar Galactica series is one seriously kick-ass woman. No, she’s not perfect, and she’s sure as hell not much of a role model in a lot of ways, but she’s real, and she reminds me of myself in a lot of ways.

Starbuck opens the series running the halls of Galactica, greeting people as she runs by.  And that’s pretty much how she spends the first two seasons: in constant motion.  When she’s stuck in the brig for assaulting a superior officer, she’s doing pushups, and when she has some stuff to get over, she’s in the gym.  She may not take great care of what goes into her body but she definitely cares about what she gets out.  She’s what I would call a “real” woman, because her body is functional.  She’s not any of this to look hot, but I think that comes along with it.  Part of it is the strength she projects.  She knows she could beat the crap out you, and that’s hot.

And she probably could beat the crap out of you.  That’s what she does.  If she has a problem, she beats the crap out of it.  Sure, that gets her into trouble when she has problems that can’t be solved by beating the crap out of something or someone, but it’s a very honest way to approach life.  Really, the only person with whom she has trouble being honest is herself.  And, while that’s a pretty serious flaw, it’s one that I relate to on an almost eerie level.

So yeah, I dig Starbuck’s style, and I definitely dig her body.  And what I wouldn’t give for the chance to beat the crap out of some of my ex-boyfriends in a boxing ring.

Image source

About Kyniska

In ancient Sparta, women were encouraged to train their bodies and minds as warriors did, in preparation for an adult life of strength and intellect. They strove to win a husband through strength as well as beauty. I try to live my life by this philosophy, that athletic ability and accented beauty can co-exist, yielding a richer whole. View all posts by Kyniska

Leave a Reply

