Friday Five: Five Things My Body Can Do

First of all, day one of my yoga streak is complete!  I did 5 rounds each of Surya A and B, then a shoulderstand, fish pose, a spinal twist, seated forward bend, and Shavasana.

Once again, inspired by Melicious and Weightless, my Friday Five are part of a five-part series focused on building up body image.

This is by no means a comprehensive list, but it is a list of the five things my body can do that are my favorite right now:

1.) A cartwheel. Seriously, never could do one as a kid. Now, as far as my capoeira teacher is concerned, I can do one. They’re really fun.

2.) Change the water in the water cooler. The other day, I changed the 5-gallon water bottle in the cooler for the first time in a while and I noticed that it was definitely easier than it has been in the past. Yay for functional strength!

3.) Eka Pada Rajakapotasana.  Even though I don’t have a regular yoga practice anymore, I still practice this posture whenever I feel warmed up enough to do it.  Because it’s fun and I like doing it.

4.) Run.  I love to run, and I love that I can run.  I probably couldn’t pick up and run a marathon right now, but I have in the past.

5.) React.  I once grabbed a beer bottle in mid-air that had just slid off the sloped side of a pool table without spilling a drop.  The person whose beer it was was seriously impressed, and so was I.  Yeah, reaction times are still sharp.

About Kyniska

In ancient Sparta, women were encouraged to train their bodies and minds as warriors did, in preparation for an adult life of strength and intellect. They strove to win a husband through strength as well as beauty. I try to live my life by this philosophy, that athletic ability and accented beauty can co-exist, yielding a richer whole. View all posts by Kyniska

2 responses to “Friday Five: Five Things My Body Can Do

Leave a Reply

