Sunday (Monday) Recipe: Zucchini Lasagne

Oops, I’m a little late posting my Sunday recipe, but I do have something for you. It’s my tweaked lasagna recipe that doesn’t involve pasta. Totally gluten-free, totally grain-free, and low in carbs, too, if you’re into that kind of thing. And all the veggies add amazing amounts of nutrients, with lots of protein from the meat and cheeses. I’ve given everything in weights since I’ve started measuring my food more carefully in an effort to be more aware of the nutrition I’m consuming. I’ll discuss that in more detail later this week.

Zucchini Lasagna

200g ground beef
3 cloves chopped garlic
1 can crushed tomatoes

300g zucchini, sliced the long way (this was about 2 medium zucchini)
100g baby spinach (this is a heaped 3 cups)

125g part-skim ricotta (about 1/2 cup)
1 beaten egg
8g chopped basil (a scant handful)

1oz. grated Romano cheese

Brown the ground beef over medium heat. Start the beef in a cold pan so that the fat renders out to cook the meat. When the meat has cooked, add the garlic and tomatoes and simmer for 15-30 minutes, to let the flavors come together.

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Line a 5″x9″ loaf pan with parchment paper. Mix together the ricotta, egg, and basil together.

Line the bottom of the pan with 1/3 of the zucchini slices. Top with 1/2 the meat sauce, 1/2 the ricotta mixture, and 1/2 the spinach. Put down another layer of zucchini, meat sauce, ricotta, and spinach. Top with the last of the zucchini and sprinkle the top with cheese.

Bake at 350 degrees for about 1/2 an hour, until bubbly and hot throughout. I actually checked the internal temperature to make sure the egg was cooked. Let sit at room temperature for 10 minutes before serving. Makes two generous servings.  I topped my serving with 2 teaspoons of extra-virgin olive oil for flavor and fat.

About Kyniska

In ancient Sparta, women were encouraged to train their bodies and minds as warriors did, in preparation for an adult life of strength and intellect. They strove to win a husband through strength as well as beauty. I try to live my life by this philosophy, that athletic ability and accented beauty can co-exist, yielding a richer whole. View all posts by Kyniska

Leave a Reply

