Product Review: Burt’s Bees Baby Bee Skin Creme

I thought I’d write up a quick review for a product I’m really loving right now.  I have problem skin.  It reacts to just about everything: stress, bad diet, lack of sleep, lack of exercise, poor product choices.  Lately, I’ve been having some pretty epic breakouts (for me) because of the stress of travel, bad diet, and some poor choices of moisturizer.  Particularly, I’ve realized that shea butter, as well as coconut oil, causes me to break out.  Ick.

Now, since shea butter and coconut oil are both supposed to be so good for your skin, it can be difficult to find reasonable products that don’t contain them, but also don’t contain petrolatum or synthetic fragrance (which also cause me issues).  I love love love the texture of Nivea creme, but don’t appreciate how after a day or two of better skin, I start breaking out again (oh, right, petrolatum).

Enter the Bees.  Burt’s Bees is hit-or-miss in some ways, but this creme is bang on.  The texture is that rich, velvet-y texture of Nivea, albeit slightly grainy, and melts in your hands.  It’s thick and stays on your skin.  I mostly use it on my face, but I also lube up dry elbows and use it when I give myself a manicure.  Yes, it’s greasy.  It’s primarily made from oils and wax.  But it’s natural oils and wax, which your skin can absorb.  I slather on a pea-sized amount at night after washing and use a much smaller amount, which I just barely pat into damp skin in the morning.  It absorbs while I make breakfast and then I’m ready to make up after brushing my teeth.  Brilliant.

 

 

About Kyniska

In ancient Sparta, women were encouraged to train their bodies and minds as warriors did, in preparation for an adult life of strength and intellect. They strove to win a husband through strength as well as beauty. I try to live my life by this philosophy, that athletic ability and accented beauty can co-exist, yielding a richer whole. View all posts by Kyniska

Leave a Reply

