Excitement and Milestones

Today is a fun day. Yeah, it’s humid as anything and my run this morning was extremely sticky, but I’m still excited from yesterday. I increased my squat weight! Since I’ve been more aware of my calories, one of the metrics I use to be sure I’m getting enough to eat is whether or not my strength stays the same. Well, most of my weights have stayed consistent, so no worries, but it’s great that I’m still improving. I’m hoping soon I’ll be able to do a full pull-up, but I haven’t worked negatives in a long time, so we’ll see.

Also, today I figured out an awesome new breakfast that I’m going to continue when the weather cools down: soup!  I had leftover chicken breast and a half a cup of broth that didn’t fit in the containers in the freezer, so instead of a scramble, I figured I’d make a stew.  Spinach, mushrooms, chopped chicken, broth, and a slice of cheese melted over the top.  Maybe a little weird to eat in the middle of July, but delicious nonetheless.  I’ve been trying to come up with something besides oatmeal to eat on chilly mornings.

What’s keeping you happy this morning?

About Kyniska

In ancient Sparta, women were encouraged to train their bodies and minds as warriors did, in preparation for an adult life of strength and intellect. They strove to win a husband through strength as well as beauty. I try to live my life by this philosophy, that athletic ability and accented beauty can co-exist, yielding a richer whole. View all posts by Kyniska

Leave a Reply

